Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Ty Cobb Retires From Baseball

November 3, 1926 - Ty Cobb resigns as Tigers manager and announces his retirement from the game. Umpire and former Tigers infielder George Moriarty replaces him. Moriarty is the first man to hold baseball's four principal jobs: player, umpire, scout, and manager.

Novermber 3, 1934 - Although Lou Gehrig wins the Triple Crown with 49 home runs, 165 RBI, and a .363 average, Mickey Cochrane, with two home runs, 76 RBI, and a.320 average, is named American League Most Valuable Player. Dizzy Dean, with a 30-7 record, is chosen as National League Most Valuable Player.

November 3, 1942 - Ted Williams is the Triple Crown winner in the major leagues, but the writers select second baseman Joe Gordon by 21 votes as American League Most Valuable Player. Gordon of the New York Yankees leads the American League with 95 strikeouts, the most ground balls hit into double plays (22), and the most errors at his position (28). Pitcher Mort Cooper gets the Most Valuable Player honor in the National League.

November 3, 1989 - Lou Piniella is named manager of the Reds, replacing the banned Pete Rose.

No comments:

Post a Comment